Transformers 2007 Movie Deluxe Barricade

0519171849a_hdr

This is the deluxe class Barricade from the 2007 Transformers movie.  This toy is one of my favorite Bayformers and so is the character.  I like how he just kept turning up in the movies.  He didn’t always do a lot or fight a lot, but he was around, scouting for Megatron.  I also love the look of the vehicle mode.  It is mean looking and intimidating.  This is a bit of a retro review, but I recently got the new Masterpiece Barricade, so I am comparing them a bit.  I will do a post on the Masterpiece version soon.

The paint details on this guy are excellent.  Another great thing about this guy is that almost all of the transformation lines, which are often ugly gaps in vehicle mode, are at places on the car that should have seams, like the doors or between the side panel and the bumper.  The exceptions to this are where the hood and rear window are split down the middle.  But even those seams are not too glaring.  Everything fits together very well.

Here is another awesome thing about Barricade.  He has a deployer!  This is a deluxe class toy with great movie accuracy and they managed to fit this guy in.

0519171903_hdrIn this pic, the front bumper part is open, so there is a gap there.

The arm has a “reach” feature where it can elongate.  The chest, being the front of the car, could use a little more transformation, but it still looks good.  If there were more, the deployer could not fit inside in robot mode.

I hope something similar to this is released in the Studio Series, but I don’t know how they could do much better than this.  I do hope a better The Last Knight Barricade is produced.  I preferred his look in that movie.

Robot mode: 9

Vehicle mode: 10

Movie accuracy: 9

Posability: 8

Playability: 10

Durability: 8

Overall: 9

0519171903a_hdr

 

Leave a comment